California's New Gun Control Measures Include Credit Card Coding for Gun Stores

California’s New Gun Control Measures Include Credit Card Coding for Gun Stores

(WFCN) —

California is leading the way in gun control measures as the first state requiring credit card providers to provide gun retailers with unique merchant codes.The above video explains how a bill becomes a law.

“Flag suspicious gun and ammunition sales in California” is the stated goal of the new law. On September 26, 2023, Governor Gavin Newsom signed Assemblymember Phil Ting’s (D-San Francisco) bill, which had been submitted as AB 1587. Merchants have until May 1, 2025, to comply with the law, which went into effect on July 1.

California’s gun control law is set to return to court shortly; the Yuba County Sheriff and others are opposed.

Ting declared, “We need to stop our gun violence epidemic with every tool at our disposal.” Since financial institutions are in a unique position to identify purchasing trends that no one else can, they can now participate in our efforts. The gun industry ought to be given merchant codes, as they are currently given to other shops.

Almost all industries are allocated an MCC (merchant category code), which is a four-digit code. In the past, sporting goods businesses included gun stores, but in California, they will now be classified separately.


Man from Kurtistown Given Supervised Release After Arrest with Loaded Gun in Truck

A gun limitation statute meant to shield victims of domestic abuse is upheld by the Supreme Court.
According to numerous sources, Mastercard, Visa, and American Express decided to revoke their 2023 agreement to create special merchant codes for merchants of firearms in response to criticism from Second Amendment supporters. They are now back in after the California bill was passed.

Following suit, MCC code regulations for gun retailers are now being implemented in Colorado and New York. As three states moved forward with the requirement, legislation to outlaw them was approved in sixteen states, including Texas, Florida, Montana, Tennessee, Georgia, Iowa, and Wyoming.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *